On Friday 24 January, UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson signed, on behalf of the UK, the Withdrawal Agreement – the agreement setting out the terms of the UK’s exit from the European Union (“Brexit”). This followed the successful passing of the UK domestic legislation necessary to implement the Withdrawal Agreement, the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020, on 23 January.

All that now remains is for the Withdrawal Agreement to be ratified by the European Parliament (expected to occur on Wednesday 29 January) and for the European Council, which represents the governments of the EU’s member states, to approve the agreement (expected to occur on Thursday 30 January).

Click here to read the full GT Alert, “UK to Formally Leave EU on Friday 31 January 2020.”